Deacon’s Showcase!

“Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent”  – Victor Hugo

part_002

.-= So back in March I held my first showcase event. It was a lot of trial and error, but in the end, it was a huge success. I originally put it together under the Deacon Media banner, but my life has taken some odd turns over the last year, and that part of my life has been placed on hold. After thinking on it for a few months, I do not want to stop showcasing local music. My motto is “Some things just have to be said.” and I am holding to that with my blog and these pages. In this case, Some Things Just Have to be Heard!

I am currently working on another showcase, now simply under the banner above. We are aiming for late September or early October. I hope to have details for it very soon. You can expect to entertained for about 3 hours. The venue is set for now, but down the road I may just expand to other places. You can count on fair prices and good service. For now, that is all I going to share about the upcoming show.

So how does it work? This part is mostly for those who may want to be part of the showcase. Obviously, the venue has limited space. For that reason, I only print up a limited number of tickets. I book three performers, each to do a full set of about 45 minutes. These can be solo artists or bands and can be of a variety of musical genres. When a band wants to be a part of it, I do some homework. If I don’t believe in the act, they don’t get booked. It really is that simple. If they do get the spot, each act is given an equal number of tickets to sell. I have a small number set aside for the door. What the act sells is what the act makes. I collect any money made at the door. I promote the show, print the posters and the tickets, and make sure the basic PA is set up at the venue. The venue must agree to have a PA or agree to cover the cost of renting one. Each act must provide their own equipment and be able to set-up and take-down quickly. Acts may contact each other and perhaps arrange the sharing of some equipment, which I strong encourage especially when it comes to a drum kit.

I want to promote local talent and share it with the city. For a very reasonable ticket price (around $10), people will be able to get not just one band, but three. I hope to hear more from everyone soon, and I look forward to sharing my showcase events with you all.

– Deacon Blues (dkn_bluez)
July 28th, 2014

#justpreachin #deaconblues #hamont #deaconsshowcase

Leave a comment